Uncategorized

In the words of Mario Savio, “I ask you to consider…”

I’ve spent a good portion of my Internet life hating giving political opinions on the Internet; however, it seems to be unavoidable. So here is me giving my opinion.

The title of this post was no accident. Mario Savio. A young Italian-American prominent in the battle for civil rights on the Berkeley campus in the sixties.

Before every speech he gave, before he tried to offer his opinion to others, he simply said, “I ask you to consider.”

So I ask you to consider what I have to say.

Meaning I don’t want to force you to believe one way or the other. I’m just going to tell you what I think.

As a Christian, I’m honestly disgusted with the way Christians are perceived in society.

And it’s our fault.

Let that sink in.

Your Bible was not written to tell other people how to live. It’s telling you how to live.

I ask you to consider Romans 3:23. “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.”

Translation: All sins are the same. All people are the same. All people will be judged, not by man, but by God himself, the only person/figure/deity/whatever-you-wanna-call-him worthy of such judgement.

You want to change the world? That’s fantastic. I am behind you 100%.

Let’s not do that with laws that condemn and hate other people. Because I don’t know what God you’re worshipping, but my God loves every man equally.

The hatred HAS TO STOP. It’s getting out of hand.

Fellow Christians: We serve a God full of love and grace, and we are called to live in the light of Christ! If I remember correctly, Jesus Christ looked at the sinful man beside Him on the cross and forgave him.

Fellow people who just happen to be non-Christian: You are beautiful and I love you just as I believe God loves you.

I believe in grace, and if you’re a believer, something tells me you do too. Grace isn’t conditional and at the end of the day, none of us deserve the forgiveness and love God has for us. But he still has it.

I will end with a quote by a man you’ve probably all heard of:

“Hatred paralyzes life; love releases it. Hatred confuses life; love harmonizes it. Hatred darkens life; love illuminates it.”- Martin Luther King Jr.
Also some influential person I learned about in history whose name I don’t recall said something about changing laws won’t change hearts.
Right?! You can make a law and take away rights of people all you want, but that won’t change anything except their attitude toward you.
Start with the man in the mirror, cue Michael Jackson.
Please, Christians, love other people. Live as we are commanded: Holy like Christ. And if you really want to change the world, I invite you to pray for it. Just pray
Prove your faith and spirituality in your own life, not just on your Facebook page.
Thanks for your time. Sorry for the length.

Love and God Bless,

-S

One thought on “In the words of Mario Savio, “I ask you to consider…”

  1. Pingback: Equality | summer

Share your thoughts

