Christian

Getting the whole story.

So I wrote a fun little article about my initial judgment of yoga pants and how I eventually came to love them, right?

Well someone decided to comment that it was the most judgmental post they’d ever read (though I feel like that’s a bit of an exaggeration) even though I clearly stated my intent from the start: I like and do not judge yoga pants.

So what does this have to do with my faith?

Glad you asked.

I think sometimes, like the anonymous commenter, people don’t read the whole story. They read a few sentences, make their own judgment, and then judge you. Your intents may be spot on and good and decent, but they’ll never know that.

I think, as Christians, we’re faced with this a lot. In my experience living in a liberal environment, people hear “God” or “Christianity” and start tuning out all the great things one could say about Jesus and the gospel.

It’s unavoidable sometimes. People hear what they want to hear. And if they think Christianity is a bad thing, all they will hear are bad things.

And it’s incredibly frustrating!

So how should we, as Christians, handle something like this?

Paul and Barnabus went through the same thing. So I think it’s fair to say we should handle it exactly as they did.

Look at Acts 13:

49 The word of the Lord spread through the whole region. 50 But the Jewish leaders incited the God-fearing women of high standing and the leading men of the city. They stirred up persecution against Paul and Barnabas, and expelled them from their region.51 So they shook the dust off their feet as a warning to them and went to Iconium.52 And the disciples were filled with joy and with the Holy Spirit.

Basically, don’t let rejection discourage you because it’s going to happen. If you can’t reach one person, try another. I’m not saying completely give up on the salvation of your rejecter; maybe just pray for them instead and choose someone else to directly speak to.

It was never promised that sharing the gospel would be easy, but we should never be bitter about the rejection we may face.

Like Paul and Barnabas, we are to continue on and be filled with the joy of the Lord.

3 thoughts on “Getting the whole story.

  1. Some excellent points. I often get frustrated by rejections when I’m doing my best to help someone. I especially like the point about being filled with the joy of the Lord. Often,that can be a more powerful testimony than words. Thanks!

Share your thoughts

