Christian

Set a fire.

I have a ton of questions tonight.

I’m going to start out with this one: Why does Christianity spark such a debate?

Or maybe a better way of saying it is, why don’t all other beliefs spark a debate?

I live in a world of diversity. I live in a country of freedom. I live in a state in the Bible belt. I live in a liberal county. I live in a college town.

I’m surrounded by people telling me it’s okay to be whoever you want. Unless you’re a Christian. THAT’S not okay. It’s not okay to be judgmental. It’s not okay to believe in a higher power with “rules” and a “moral code.” It’s not okay to believe in heaven and hell.

Okay.

Why? Why is this not okay, and why does it offend you so?

Maybe it has to do with the views of Christianity. They’re pretty radical. Really. And when they disagree with the world, the world gets offended by it. So I guess that’s the only answer I can get for that question.

My next question is, how are Christians supposed to respond?

I really don’t know. I’ve had the privilege of talking to people about religion without them judging me and without me judging them. I really struggle with doing that on my campus. As soon as anything about Jesus or the Bible is mentioned, anti-Christian comments start coming.

I truly don’t understand how to handle it. That’s not the accepting culture you keep telling me I live in.

Doesn’t it make sense to be accepting of everything when you say you’re going to be accepting of everything?

Explain yourself, world.

(For the record, some people are obviously accepting. This is a general observation of things I’ve experienced.)

So anyway. I believe in Jesus and I believe in what the Bible says and that offends people. They think I shouldn’t believe that and they think I hate them and condemn them to hell or something. I don’t know.

But based on the world’s reasoning, I should be allowed to believe whatever I want without them caring. That’s what the world keeps telling me to do. “Don’t bother people if they aren’t bothering you.”

This isn’t the case though. My beliefs spark debate. My beliefs set a fire.

And maybe that’s exactly what I’m supposed to be doing.

I’m setting a fire in the world that will never be burnt out. Because I am a minority and I am a radical movement.

And that’s really cool to me.

So let tha haters hate, and Imma do me. (And I vow to never EVER ever say that again.)

As it turns out, my third question has nothing to do with the others.

Dudes on the Internet giving anonymous shout outs to girls you think are pretty, why aren’t you saying this to them?

BE MEN. Be intentional. We’re waiting. There’s no need to proclaim your love and admiration via the interwebs because literally no one cares and it is doing nothing beneficial. It’s hurting us.

Pursue me, good fellows.

Get your face out of that screen, there are girls waiting for you to be brave and actually work up the nerve to approach and say hello. Do it. Please. Just do it.

Set a fire with your courage… Or in the hearts of women. I’m trying to make this relate. Am I failing? Probably…

Okay.

I think we’re done here.

8 thoughts on “Set a fire.

  1. Hi! I came across this post after you started following my blog earlier today (see, it does work).

    I believe that many of those who instinctually cringe away from Christianity do so because it is an admittedly exclusive religion. Like Judaism and Islam, Christianity, if the bible is to be taken in any literal way, claims to be the only true path to God.

    So then, it creates a conundrum for those of us trying to be more accepting or tolerant when we encounter someone who claims that they believe us to be absolutely wrong. Giving my blessing on the life and beliefs of another person who, in turn, believes me to be completely wrong is, essentially, admitting that I myself am wrong.

    A more palatable experience, though one that happens to me very seldomly, is when I encounter a Christian who claims that Jesus and his ways are the path they have chosen individually but also recognize that this path is not necessary for everyone to encounter the divine, assuming a person desires that experience at all.

    Keep blogging about this topic, though. You are asking some important questions. Best to you!

    Jason

    1. I see what you’re saying about exclusivity. I agree, it is an exclusive belief in a concept, but the fact that Christianity accepts anyone who wishes to join and will accept anyone regardless of a broken past, present, or future is pretty inclusive! Just a thought on that.

  2. Hi, Religion has always from the dawn of time been a contentious subject, I guess you always need to have a look at your audience and see if they can handle the subject or if they shy or move away from you before you open that discussion. Never be afraid to try and talk about it and never be afraid of your own beliefs being Christian or otherwise.
    Whatever you need to have a hopeful, fruitful and peaceful life is what you should aim to achieve.
    This can come from music, religion, your own principles as long as you do not hurt others in the attempt then go with the flow, life is to be lived and not hidden away from. We are here for a short time as far as measuring it to time, take your best shot at it.

  3. I went to college in a small southern town where, on any given day of the week, a young preacher would stand on the corner outside of one of the math buildings and call just about anyone who walked by a sinner, and the girls in the nearby dorms, whores, and on and on. It didn’t bother me in the sense that I didn’t interpret it as a personal attack, but it did sadden me somewhat, because, in my opinion, the love of Christ and judgment of others don’t go hand in hand. I think it is a great and beautiful choice to be a Christian, but I think some of the pushback to Christianity is, perhaps, a resistance to some particular expressions it takes that are predicated upon judging others, and on insisting that others “should” believe what you choose to believe.

    Michael

    1. I agree, judging others is not biblical and I completely understand why people are offended by THAT. It just bothers me when they judge my beliefs without knowing me and knowing how I go about believing in Christianity.

      1. And I can agree with THAT! It is unfortunate that people have a tendency to think they know someone by a label or a tag, when we are all so much more than that… Also unfortunate when we equate everyone who is part of a group with one particular subset or element of the group. Neither brooks authentic awareness of the other. Michael

  4. You asked a good question. You just hold you head high and tell them with no offensiveness what you believe. You didn’t make it up, the gospel is in the Bible…yet the world nevertheless cringes at the truth because Christianity draws a hard line. Christ is the Son of God, and through by grace through faith the only way to eternal life. That is offensive because it goes against every tendancy and thoughts of fallen man, unless God himself changes the heart.

Share your thoughts

