University

Don’t blink.

“Don’t blink. Blink and you’re dead.”

For all you non-Whovians out there, two things:

1. What is wrong with you? Doctor Who is a fabulous show.

2. This is referring to the weeping angels. When you stop looking at them, they attack. They’re terrifying.

So I was thinking about this quote earlier.

And how it usually always terrifies Whovians because DUDE WEEPING ANGELS BLINK DIE IT’S SCARY AHHHHH

But anyway. I realize it’s a quote referencing a fictional show and a fictional creature, but isn’t it so true?

Like, time flies. Time flies by in a way I can’t put into words.

So I’m really trying hard to not metaphorically blink through life.

Because blink and I’m dead.

And that’s incredibly depressing. But it’s true. I’m in shock that I’m almost halfway through college already. And then it’s the real world. And the real world is going to go by even faster. And it’s truly incredible, and I’m also very afraid.

It’s hard to not blink. It’s hard to not waste time. It’s hard to live a full life, it really is.

I’d just like to end with THANKS, MOFFAT. THANKS. (Steven Moffat is the writer of Doctor Who, and the reason my heart is on a constant roller coaster ride of emotion.) Somehow Moffat managed to turn a fictional quote into something real and something that scares me even more than weeping angels.

Ugh.

2 thoughts on “Don’t blink.

  1. Lady, when you get to be my age, you’re blinking all the time! And the beauty is that you realize that faster or slower, you’ll still reach your destination. My son is in college as well and tends to feel like you do. My advice to him is live life at your own pace. 🙂

Share your thoughts

