Politics

Why My Vote Didn’t Matter

I feel a little nervous every time I write about politics. Because perhaps my view of politics isn’t exactly the popular opinion.

Or maybe it is and people just won’t admit it.

Whatever. Here goes a post about why my vote in last week’s election was completely worthless.

I had a lot of people tell me I should vote because my voice matters. We’re a democracy. People (women) fought for my right to go to the polls.

That’s true, sure.

Unfortunately, these people were unaware that I was voting for a third party candidate. That’s right. The libertarian candidate. I can’t even remember his last name.

But, you see, voting for a senator is a big deal. They do important things, right? And that’s why people say it’s important to vote for the lesser of two evils. Because you want a lesser evil in office. That’s common sense.

I didn’t want to do that. I wanted to vote for the guy I agreed with. I didn’t care if he was a republican, a democrat, or a party I’d never heard of. If his ideals were solid, he had my support.

But Americans don’t think this way. They see people as a party- and they only choose between two.

The American political system has become threateningly polarized. It’s dehumanizing and it’s stupid.

People are not parties.

The party system causes most voters to see black and white, Republican or Democrat. Most voters won’t be informed of the actual candidates. Most voters see ads targeted as people like them. Many voters vote straight ticket. This is a stupid way to elect.

If you agree with the ideals of the Democrat or Republican candidate, that is great, and I hope you voted for them. But don’t vote for the lesser of two evils. Vote for who you agree with. The only way to escape this polarization and bring recognition to third party is to be informed and be willing to risk a few voiceless elections.

The libertarian candidate I voted for got 3% of the vote. The libertarian presidential candidate two years ago got 1%. Two different elections, yeah, but this still kind of seems like small progress.

Polarization is causing us to hate each other based on political affiliation, and that’s not great.

I didn’t have a voice in the recent election because I voted for person over party. Everyone should do this. If you’re unhappy with the government and the current system, be aware you have the power to change it.

Just be informed. I realize at this point I’ve kind of ranted in a weird way that may not make sense at all.

But I’m gonna go with it.

I’m going to keep voting in elections where my vote doesn’t matter. I’m going to keep voting because, like mentioned earlier, women fought for me to be able to do this. But they didn’t fight for me to vote in an uninformed, straight ticket, prejudice, bandwagon way. They fought so I could be an educated, influential member of society. So that’s what I’m gonna do.

5 thoughts on “Why My Vote Didn’t Matter

  1. I too vote for the person, you are not alone. But your voice counts, because if the other politicians are wise they will notice that 3% and work on doing better – and I mean work because they care not just because they want your vote. You have strong convictions don’t change – people like you will always make a difference.

Share your thoughts

