Christian · Headlines

The immigrants are people too

I almost titled this “Why Obama’s Immigration Thoughts Are Okay (& Why They’re Not),” but honestly, who wants to read another political blog?

We’re all perfectly capable of googling what he said about new policies and executive action and some government jargon I’m a little unsure about. Whatever. I’m going to talk about something else.

I hear the Republicans are pretty angry about this whole “Obama’s a dictator granting illegals amnesty” thing. That’s a paraphrase from some very educated Facebookers, but you get the idea.

I have my opinions about this policy and I invite you to form your own, regardless of what party you associate with. You do not have to agree with me about it. You do not have to agree with me about my party. You do not have to agree with me about if Obama sucks or nah.

But I am demanding you agree with me when I tell you the immigrants are people too.

“Well, sure they are, Summer. They’re people. They’re just illegal.”

Is that what you were thinking? Maybe? Judging by the criticism of Obama’s opinion on immigration, it seems like the huge focus on these immigrants is just the fact they are immigrants. And that’s not a bad thing at all. It’s just another label society likes to throw around.

But then the term illegal gets thrown into the picture. That’s when illegal immigrant becomes a bad thing to a lot of Americans.

I’m not denying that the law should be followed to an extent. It’s there for a reason. But instead of focusing on the fact these humans with souls and emotions and families and dreams might be in the United States without documentation, shouldn’t we examine the reason they are here illegally in the first place?

I can’t speak for all the immigrants, obviously. But I don’t know anyone that would just willingly leave his home to move to a place where he has to live in fear of being deported and isn’t even acknowledged as a citizen.

Why don’t we care about that? I personally feel a lot of compassion for people who feel they have to so hastily enter a country, separate from their families, or be frowned upon by a majority of citizens in a foreign land just to escape the place they’ve called home for so long.

I’m especially disappointed in the people claiming to be followers of Christ that refuse to treat their fellow humans as we are commanded.

It’s allllll in the Old Testament, you guys. That’s the half of the Bible people really like to skim over, I’ve learned. But maybe you’re familiar with the story of the Israelites and Moses and some stuff. There were strangers in a foreign land. You get it.

My point:

Leviticus 19:33-34 ESV

“When a stranger sojourns with you in your land, you shall not do him wrong. You shall treat the stranger who sojourns with you as the native among you, and you shall love him as yourself, for you were strangers in the land of Egypt: I am the Lord your God.”

This isn’t the only location of a command such as this. I’m just saying, our God is a God of love, and treating people like lesser people is such a jerky thing to do.

In reality, we’re all strangers and we’re all breaking the laws of God all the time. Yet he still forgives. And he still loves.

This is totally out of context, but I like it and it fits, so I’ll just end with it.

Acts 28:2 ESV

The native people showed us unusual kindness, for they kindled a fire and welcomed us all, because it had begun to rain and was cold.

I want to be a person known for unusual kindness. Kindness in undeserved places. Kindness in dark places. Kindness in illegal places.

Because if I ended up in a similar position and it started to rain, I would want to be rescued from the cold, too.

One thought on “The immigrants are people too

Share your thoughts

