Christian

A season of magic

I have this weird thing about Santa Claus and I wasn’t really sure why until tonight.

I spent my Christmas Eve like many others. Lots of food, family, and laughter. As tradition goes, I opened one gift from my grandparents. The weather was rainy. Still is. I thought about what would happen Christmas morning. I would wake up and open gifts with my parents. Then we’d go to my grandparents’ house again and open gifts with the rest of the family. It would rain again. It seems so simple. I wondered where the magic was.

When I was younger, Christmas morning was this magical time when Santa brought me everything I could ever want. Santa once brought me a puppy that greeted me with excited pounces when my little five-year-old self refused to get out of bed.

But then I learned the truth about Santa, and Santa started making me pick out my own gifts. This year, I tried to be less greedy and only asked for things I felt like I really needed. I asked for a bike to get around campus. It would be useful getting to and from my apartment. I asked for a mattress pad to go over my 16 year old mattress that kills me when I sleep. But I got both of these things a few days ago. I wondered where the magic would be Christmas morning when I opened a few boxes of clothes from my parents and that was it.

Santa made Christmas magical, and that’s why I have a problem with Santa.

For kids, Santa is great. Every kid deserves something magical to believe in. Every kid deserves that excitement on Christmas morning. Every kid deserves the knowledge that someone is watching over them and wants to reward them for their good behavior.

But then adulthood happens and you decide the magic left when Santa stopped being real. The thing is, the magic of Christmas never left.

The magic of Christmas lies within the history of Christmas and the birth of Jesus. The magic of Christmas lies within the knowledge that Jesus came as a humble little baby just to die a few decades later with the weight of the world’s sin upon his own shoulders. The magic of Christmas lies within the biblical Gospels in the stories from the birth night long ago. But somehow I had forgotten all of that.

I created this magical feeling that I thought Christmas should always bring to me. Santa and snow and happy music and glittery, shiny tinsel and things. But none of that stuff is magic and all of the joy that stuff brings me is temporary. The magic and joy that came with the Christ-child, however, is eternal.

It shouldn’t take a visit from Santa Claus to make my Christmas feel magical again because the knowledge that I am saved by grace (Ephesians 2:8) by a Savior sent by God the Father to redeem me of my sin and bring me great joy is enough.

She gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because there was no guest room available for them.

And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. An angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified. 10 But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all the people. 11 Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord. 12 This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.”

13 Suddenly a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel, praising God and saying,14 “Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.”

The Gospel of Luke, Chapter 2

The magic of Christmas comes from this story. This simple story of a baby and the hope he brought to the world. A story powerful enough to make men and angels alike praise God for this little child.

This Christmas, know you have been graced by the presence of a King. This Christmas, rejoice that a Savior was sent for mankind. Praise and glorify God for never ceasing to make this season a magical season.

Merry Christmas, friends. Be well, be merry, be bright, and feel magical. xoxo

2 thoughts on “A season of magic

Share your thoughts

