Christian · University

Good and faithful servant

I’ve known for a while where I want to be after graduation. The problem? Making it through my remaining year and a half. After wise teaching from the weekend and lots of processing, my current goal has become clear too. Finish strong. Finish well. Use my remaining time at UNC to learn and equip myself to take the gospel to New York & the ends of the earth, however that may happen. Complete my classes with intention and know each has a purpose even if I can’t see it. Don’t just breeze through with a poor attitude waiting for the day I can finally get out. Then, one day, I can look forward to the glorious moment I will hear, “Well done, good and faithful servant,” and only then will I finally rest.

Okay, I took this straight from my Instagram, but felt like it could be a really encouraging post. I’m going to keep it really short because the above caption to my journal entry says most of what I’m thinking.

I hope to encourage you by saying whatever you are doing has a purpose and will put you one step closer to figuring out how your calling fits into the plan of the God of the universe. You don’t have to have each stepped planned out; only take small steps of faith along the way. You also don’t have to do the same thing your entire life. This weekend I learned that your calling in God’s kingdom is always the same, and that is to take the gospel to the whole world.

The cool thing is that we each express this calling in different ways. Some of us can be students. Some of us can be in the workforce. Some of us can go overseas. Some of us can give financially to traveling missionaries and campus ministries and people physically working to make disciples. Some of us can fast and pray and talk to the Lord about what He is doing. Some of us can fulfill our lifelong dreams and still glorify God with it. There are endless things.

Most importantly, however, is to remember the things above are not the end step and not the only step. We must learn and be equipped and each of us is equipped in a cool and unique way. I happen to be in college and sometimes my classes seem pointless, but there’s a purpose in there somewhere. My classes are just a step. Doing well in these classes and trying to learn the material is my way of taking a step of faith this semester.

Whatever you’re doing and wherever you are, I encourage you to take a step of faith and look forward to the glorious day we can all take a final step into eternity.

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Good and faithful servant

  1. Summer, I couldn’t agree with you more! Our calling is singular in the Christian faith: to take the gospel–the good news of Jesus Christ–to the ends of the earth. I remember my final days of college and having similar thoughts about finishing strong, while looking for opportunities to be a light amongst the darkness. Be encouraged, sister in Christ. Through His Spirit, He will guide you. Blessings! 🙂

Share your thoughts

