Christian · Headlines · University

untitled

I am burnt out. I am speechless.

I’ve been scrolling through Facebook and reading many disheartening things. I’ve been getting constant alerts about the shooting murder that occurred near my campus last night. I’ve been seeing debates about religion, of course, because the three students killed were Muslim. I’ve been seeing people mourn over the loss of life, and I’ve also seem commentary from sources who really have no authority to speak on the issue. Myself included. So that’s all. On a less extreme note but still concerning note, I’ve been seeing racial arguments and walk-outs during an event on campus where a speaker was invited. (But let’s be real, racial arguments have been happening on my campus & in the world nonstop for a very long time.)

A lot of this seems to stem from disrespect and a complete disregard for human life, liberty, and dignity.

But down to the very core, it’s because we’re a fallen, sinful people in desperate need of rescue.

I can’t keep debating about Christianity and the existence of God. I’ve run out of things to say. I can’t keep preaching love when it’s really obvious that no one is listening. I can’t keep getting headaches from reading all the terrible things discussed (and I use this term loosely) on social media and news media. My mouth is physically dry with disgust. I’m not really sure why, but this happens when anger and desperation build up within me. I can’t keep using Netflix as a comedic escape because my heart is heavy and crushed, and laughter just isn’t enough of a cure anymore.

We all need rescue. I found this rescue in the Gospel of the Christian Bible and the sacrifice of Jesus Christ. I hope you find it too.

People keep saying the world is a scary place. What they don’t talk about is how we can change that. We all need rescue.

8 thoughts on “untitled

  1. The world needs to SEE Christianity Matthew 24:14 “And this gospel of the kingdom shall be preached in all the world for a witness unto all nations; and then shall the end come.”

  2. You’re right. Don’t get discouraged when you invite others to know the Gospel. We’re simply planting seeds. It’s God who changes hearts. Keep planting!💕

Share your thoughts

