Christian

Here’s the truth.

“I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed. For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God.

We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. Not only so, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit,groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for our adoption to sonship, the redemption of our bodies. For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what they already have? But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.”

–Romans 8:18-25

Ever since changing my studies from journalism to global studies, I’ve wondered if it was a mistake. I learn about things in the world and I hear the media report falsely. I hear agendas and politicized news. I wonder if I could’ve stayed in journalism and changed things.

I believe people deserve to know the truth. I don’t believe the media and the government accurately give the people the real truth all the time.

There are a few reasons I quit journalism school, but I question myself all the time. Could I have told the truth? Could I have exposed corruption where exposure was due? Could I give the people the truth they really need?

You can argue that truth is relative and I’m going to tell you it’s not. Because the truth is we live in a world full of people with free will and rebellious hearts. We aren’t a racist, sexist, violent, uncaring, selfish people at the root. No, at the root we’re sinful and separated from a perfect God.

Now I’m thinking that if I’d stayed in journalism, I could never have told you this truth. I could’ve told you about war and politics. I could’ve told you the events of the day. But I never would’ve had the chance to tell you the world is desperately lost and I know how to save it.

This feels like a really bold post. It feels bold to say that I know the absolute truth in this postmodern world.

As I sit here writing, I’m actually taking a break from a long marathon of Nat Geo documentaries about the nineties. The media reported on Desert Storm with America as the hero, but I’ve read books by missionaries that say different. The missionaries went with the hope that the Somali people could be physically fed, sure. But they also went hoping to introduce the Somali people to Jesus and save them from the corruption and sin they had been living under. America went in as humanitarians and it turned into a power-hungry war. The documentary also talked about the genocide in Rwanda that the United States refused to acknowledge. I hear things like this and I think Why couldn’t I have been a journalist then? I know the truth! I’m not afraid to report on government mistakes and I’m not afraid to say America can’t always be the winner.

But is that really the most important truth the American people need to hear? Is that the truth the world really needs to hear?

No.

Corruption doesn’t matter if you don’t know the root. Murder doesn’t matter if you don’t know the root. Genocide doesn’t matter if you don’t know the root. Hunger doesn’t matter. Racism. Abuse. Depression. Drug abuse. Divorce. Political agendas and deception.

None of this matters to the people if they don’t know the truth about sin.

Maybe I never would’ve gotten the chance to know the truth if I’d kept my journalism major. I’ve been exposed to culture and politics and language thanks to changing my major to global studies and Italian. I’ve learned so much about the world. So maybe I should be thankful I switched courses of study. But I would say I’ve learned more about human nature as a whole by knowing God, and that’s even better.

I’ve learned that we were created for a perfect world in perfect relationship to a perfect God. But we were given free will because no real relationship can thrive if it’s a forced relationship.

But with our free will, we rebelled. We said we knew better than God. We said we had the key to happiness. It was all a lie. The rebellion backfired and we found ourselves separated from God and unable to attain the perfection and utopia we so craved.

We fought enemies and we worked endlessly to impress God, but nothing was enough. That is, until the biblical prophecies were fulfilled and Jesus came to save us. He lived a perfect life in perfect unity with God, and he died on a cross to fulfill the payment for every sin and every rebellion my heart has ever desired or committed.

That’s the truth. That’s the truth the people need to hear. Because this is the only truth that can save you from evil. It’s the only truth that can save you from corruption, murder, greed, lies, or hurt. It’s the only truth that can save you from yourself.

So I could’ve been a reporter. I could’ve told you about the wars that will likely happen during my lifetime. I could tell you about court cases and street riots. But I’m more interested in telling you why these things happen and how there’s hope for rescue from it all.

I don’t believe that the world is going to change. The world is still going to be unpleasant and that’s because it’s full of rebellious people who just haven’t met Jesus. It honestly breaks my heart to know I can’t help everyone and that I can never live a perfect life here on earth. But I have a hope that some can change and that’s good enough for me.

A friend of mine in Italy said that the message of Jesus may not change the whole world, but it can change one world. And several individual changed worlds can add up and make a whole lot of difference.

My world isn’t perfect and is still full of awful things including some things I do, but it is changed. I’m still surrounded by people who don’t believe the same things as me. I disagree with and don’t get along with a lot of people. I still make mistakes even though I call myself a Christian because I still have an imperfect, sinful human heart. My situation hasn’t necessarily changed, but I have. And that is everything.

And I want to tell you my world is full of hope. It is full of joy. I look at this world through rescued eyes and I see a bigger picture. I see that people are bad, but they aren’t out of God’s reach. I see the world making mistakes, but I can’t blame it; it doesn’t know any better because it doesn’t know Jesus. I see that the current sufferings are only temporary, but there’s a perfectly wonderful eternal bliss awaiting. I want the people to have that.

I want the people to know there is truth and it’s a beautiful truth. And I don’t need to be a journalist to share that.

4 thoughts on “Here’s the truth.

  1. In addition we are all living journals cause this text in 2 Corinthians 3:2 “Ye are our epistle written in our hearts, known and read of all men”, may the LORD continue to shine through you!

  2. I hear you! And to amplify of what you shared. In James 4:1-2 “From whence come wars and fightings among you? come they not hence, even of your lusts that war in your members? Ye lust, and have not: ye kill, and desire to have, and cannot obtain: ye fight and war, yet ye have not, because ye ask not.” All sin is rooted in selfishness in wanting to gain. But Christ didn’t even have a pillow and yet as the Creator He gave Himself to be a curse for us.

Share your thoughts

