Christian · God · italy · student · timing · University

One year later

One year ago yesterday, I applied to study abroad for a semester in Florence. When my dad told me we just couldn’t get the money together that fast (because like a lot of what I do, it was a really spontaneous decision to apply), I was devastated.

One year later, I’m so thankful the door was slammed in my face.

One year later, I have perfect memories of a summer spent in Bologna.

One year later, I have memories of a full semester leading a Bible study, and I know we would never be the friends we are now if I had left.

One year later, I think about the time I got to spend in Chapel Hill and now with less than a year left here, I treasure that time.

One year later, I think about getting to go home on the weekends to see my family and my guy.

If I’ve learned anything in college, it’s that God has perfect timing and I don’t. I’m really grateful for that.

Share your thoughts

